top of page

a spontaneous trip to scotland

Hello :)

Firstly, it has been so so long since I last did a post on here that lots has changed in that time, including my age!! Yes, I have had a birthday since my last post and it was so much fun that I wanted to share some of that with you. I turned 24 and to celebrate me and Dan (my husband) decided last minute to go on a weekend trip to Edinburgh. I have been before and loved it, but Dan had never been so we thought it was the perfect time to go and explore. We arrived on Friday night after the 4.5 hour drive from Manchester, so we literally collapsed and got some much needed sleep. On Saturday morning we got up and headed to Sainsbury's (not very exciting I know!!) but we thought we would grab a bite to eat and have it on the go, as it was already quite late in the morning and we wanted to get exploring ... However the cafe looked so yummy that we ended up having a cooked breakfast and cream cakes there!! Maybe cause we were so hungry, or maybe just cause it was, but the food was really good and kept us going pretty much all day.

We then walked, and walked and walked some more...all day, all around Edinburgh. We went to the castle, had whiskey samples, visited the Grassmarket (where we sat and had more whiskey), popped into all the tourist shops along the Royal Mile, walked along Princes street and the gardens there and had a little walk through the Meadows. Towards the end of the day we climbed to the top of Calton Hill to watch the sunset which was absolutely beautiful. We then spent about an hour walking to find somewhere to eat and ended up in a pub called the Beehive in the Grassmarket and it was so delicious!! Sunday we walked around a little bit more and stopped to enjoy some busking, we also saw some of the other areas of town by driving round a little bit before heading home. It was such a great weekend and perfect for me as my favourite way to explore a new place is just by walking around all day! We would for sure go back as there are so many cute cafes and restaurants that we didn't get to try out this time, as well as more sights and areas to see and explore!

The whole weekend was just incredible, and Edinburgh is stunning. Me and Dan have already made a wish list of what we want to do next time we visit, so hopefully we will be there again soon! Thanks so much for reading! If you like these sorts of posts please let me know... My comments section on the blog isn't working (I will try and sort this ASAP) but you can let me know on twitter (tiffEdawson) , facebook (etc.bytiffanydawson) or instagram (etc.bytiffanydawson) :)

See you soon,

tiff xx


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page